‘Your New Savoury Snack’


Welcome back to my beautiful and tasty Kitchen Corner 🙂

Red Onion Savoury Jam Red Onion Savoury Jam

This week I am sharing with you a new recipe that I’ve discovered just recently:)… beautiful and delicious red onion jam.

Absolutely perfect with all kinds of meats…great addition to sandwiches…and amazing snack with rosemary crackers!

Ingredients: 

  • 1/2 kg of red onion (chopped)
  • 1 1/2 cup of red wine
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes
  • 2 tbs wine vinegar (I’ve used red but white will work as well)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tsp thyme (fresh is the best but dried will work)

Method: Heat the olive oil in a deep frying pan, add the onions and let them sweat for a few minutes.

Add the sugar and stir until dissolved, pour in the wine and the vinegar, add the bay leaves, chilli flakes. Cover the pan with a lid and leave to simmer for about 45 minutes, stirring from time to time until it thickens.

Remove the bay leaves add salt and pepper.

It can be served immediately along side your main dish or stored away into a jar to be consumed within 2 weeks.

Best to store in the fridge!

Red Onion Jam

We’ve made it this weekend and just enjoyed it as a snack with delicious rosemary crackers:)

Let me know what you think once you’ll try your own savoury jam!

Bon Appetit!

Your Girl with an Apron,

Julia

xxx

My Red Page © 2015 All rights reserved

17 thoughts on “‘Your New Savoury Snack’”

  1. Hi Julia! I was excited to choose your recipe in Lina’s recipe exchange. It was absolutely delicious and so incredibly flavorful. I had trouble not overeating 😀 Please check out my site to see the post. The link is on my homepage and under Blog on the menu. Happy Thursday 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Greetings Julia! I have never thought about onions in or as a jam. I’ll have to check it out, though I do have problems with heartburn when onions are involved. Still, that is quite different!

    Hope your season is going well!

    Fim

    Liked by 1 person

Let's have a conversation:)